May 2018 – Annual Meeting

Our annual Meeting was held on 1 May 2018, with our Middlesex Federation WI Advisor, immediate past President of the MFWI, Liz Morrell. We balanced the business end of the meeting with a fun baking-themed quiz followed by tea and our inaugural decorated tote bag competition.

Secretary Nina Jewell presented the Annual Report, recounting our busy year, from wine tasting, to local green endeavours, de-cluttering to dementia, and the launch of our twiddlemuff knitting group.

Liz ably officiated for our elections at which Emma Watson was elected President for a fourth term, and the new committee was elected. We farewelled from the committee Maggie Weatherby and Treasurer Ching Smith, and are delighted to welcome to the committee two new members, Joan Prasad and Aurora Bellingham. We also formally farewelled from the committee Norma Barnes, who continues her rehabilitation from an accident in 2017.

Following the Committee meeting held on 8 May, we are happy to confirm that the Committee and office bearers for 2018-2019 are:

  • Emma Watson – President
  • Nina Jewell – Treasurer / Secretary
  • Rosemary Pettman – Rosemary will assist the Secretary as minute secretary and will also continue her co-ordination of all things food and drink.
  • Joan Prasad
  • Aurora Bellingham

Jayne Fowler is not a committee member however continues to administer the MCS (membership database) – thank you Jayne!

We also held our inaugural Decorated tote bag competition, organised by Maggie. We had almost 20 entries, and they were all of such a high standard the judging proved a challenge for Liz. After much deliberation, Tamara Watts was declared the winner, with Ching Smith and Chris Randall the runners-up. Take a look at more photos here.

Finally, Liz drew the winner of our 2018 Denman Bursary. Rosanna Gnych was the lucky winner. We know Rosanna has already been to Denman, and she is delighted to be able to head back again with our funding. Congratulations Rosanna!

If you would like to know more about the WI’s Denman College, take a look at its website.


We also congratulate our own Nina Jewell who is the lucky winner of the Middlesex Federation’s Denman Bursary: congratulations Nina!

In acknowledgment of her services to the Middlesex Federation, Maggie Weatherby was presented with a certificate of recognition by Liz Morrell. Keen gardener Maggie was also presented with a beautiful hydrangea as a thank-you for her work for our WI as she stood down from the committee.