Annual Meeting – May 2016

Our Annual Meeting was held on 3 May 2016, with our Middlesex Federation WI Advisor Liz Morrell, Federation Chair. We balanced the business end of the meeting with a fun quiz followed by tea and some of Rosemary’s excellent cakes (my favourite the lemon drizzle!).

In her last address to the Annual Meeting as Secretary, Maggie Weatherby recounted our busy year, from Centenary activities in early summer and our successful Group Meeting in October to fascinating talks by Dame Hilary Blume and pilot Vicky Farmer, a suffragette walk and a night of beautiful pearls.

Liz ably officiated for our elections. We are proud to welcome a new member, Norma Barnes, to our committee: an additional pair of hands is always welcome. Emma Watson was elected President for a second term.


Incoming Secretary Jayne Fowler and President Emma Watson thank outgoing Secretary Maggie Weatherby.

Following the Committee meeting held on 9 May, we are happy to confirm that Committee office bearers for 2016-2017 are: Emma Watson – President, Nina Jewell – Treasurer, and Jayne Fowler – Secretary. Jayne also manages the MCS and membership matters, and this year will be assisted by Rosemary as minute secretary. Rosemary will continue her co-ordination of all things food and drink, whilst Ching will support Nina on financial matters. Maggie was presented wth flowers as a token of thanks from the committee for over five years of hard work as secretary and one of the inaugural Committee members of our WI: thank you Maggie!